上環生與死

導賞團概要

1841年,英國佔領了香港島,此後,華人和洋人在社會的地位發生了重大變化,洋尊華卑的現象更是持續了數十年。 當時上環成為了指定的華人生活區,但該區惡劣的衛生條件和擁擠的生活環境使許多華人苦不堪言,1850年的太平天國移民潮使當地情況每況愈下。 19世紀期間爆發的鼠疫,更是使「太平山」這個名字的「太平」寓意特顯諷刺。

如今,儘管太平山街及其周圍的小巷已經搖身一變成為咖啡館,畫廊和精品店,但仍難掩歷史在這裡留下的殘跡。在這次導賞團中,活現香港將帶領參加者來一場時光倒流之旅,了解19世紀時期香港的政治及社會發展如何影響該時期居住在太平山區的華人。不僅如此,活現香港更會帶領大家拜訪當地機構,深入研究中國文化中喪禮的歷史和當中蘊含的意義。

焦點
詳情

    "Learned so much from this tour. Truly interesting."

    Liwei W.

    「我們參加過不少導賞團,但這實在是出眾的一次。它並不止於鋪陳資料與數字,而是得以讓人投入真正吸引的討論之中。」

    Maria T.

    "As an avid traveller, I've been on so many walking tours but this was by far the best yet."

    Tristan W.

    嚐盡九龍寨城故事之旅

    你所能想像的道地美食—熱氣騰騰的魚蛋,新鮮出爐的蛋撻,醃製入味的鵝肉……盡在活現香港美食之旅!…

    View

    香港性小眾之旅

    踏上全亞洲首創的 LGBT 性小眾歷史及文化導賞團!

    View

    大澳漁村之旅

    若你厭倦風塵碌碌的都市生活,不妨暫且逃離喧囂,到有「香港威尼斯」之稱的大澳鬆一口氣。

    View

    香港電影之旅:上環

    《香港電影之旅:上環》乃香港旅遊業首創,我們將帶大家進入香港電影的世界,重溫經典電影取景場地。由資深影評人及影迷充當嚮導,沿途觀看在地取景的電影片段、比對珍貴劇照,細味戲內戲外的名星逸事。…

    View

previous arrow
next arrow
previous arrownext arrow
Slider

Death and Life – the Weal and Woes of the Chinese in Early Colonial Hong Kong

Tour Info

In 1841, the British took Hong Kong Island, and it wasn’t long before Chinese people and Westerners were segregated in many areas of life — a phenomenon that was to develop and persist for decades to come. Sheung Wan, which sits west of modern-day Central, was designated a Chinese area, but atrocious hygiene and crowded living conditions made life unbearable for the Chinese inhabitants there. An influx of migrants from mainland China from the 1850s onwards further exacerbated the situation. Many of these individuals toiled and struggled for years and eventually died alone, in this foreign place, without any family or friends.

The neighbourhood around Tai Ping Shan Street at the heart of this Chinese settlement was ground zero for a horrific outbreak of the bubonic plague in the late 19th century – a deeply poignant irony given the fact that Tai Ping Shan actually means “Peaceful Hill” in Chinese.

Today, Tai Ping Shan Street and its surrounding lanes have transformed into a trendy enclave of cafés, galleries and boutiques, but one only has to look closely to find remnants of Sheung Wan’s macabre past. On this walking tour, we’ll take a trip back in time to see how the Chinese population of the area lived in the second half of the 19th century, and in particular, how the grim spectre of death hung over them, shaping the subsequent political and social developments of Hong Kong. We’ll also visit some local institutions and discuss death rituals in Chinese culture, digging deep into their history and meaning.

Highlights
Details

"Learned so much from this tour. Truly interesting."

Liwei W.

"We have done many walking tours and this was a stand out experience. Not just a standard facts and figures lecture but a truly engaging discussion."

Maria T.

"As an avid traveller, I've been on so many walking tours but this was by far the best yet."

Tristan W.

Law and the City

Take a walk through the evolution of Hong Kong’s legal system.

View

Tai O Fishing Village – A Tour of Traditions

Take a short trip to the “Venice of Hong Kong.”

View

Sham Shui Po – A story of grassroots Hong Kong

See lively bazaars, a mosaic of public housing, not-yet-gentrified streetscapes, and stories of working-class grit and ingenuity.

View

Island Architecture Walk

Come experience the distinctively Hong Kong architectural masterpieces in Causeway Bay and North Point, from neoclassical churches to cylindrical public housing.

View